• Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_001_1.jpg
  • Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_002.jpg
  • Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_003.jpg
  • Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_004_1.jpg

Hohmatt Alpine trail – "poacher path"

The shortest pathl on Fuerenalp leads over the alp "Hohmatt". Because the geographical line of the path is almost straight, you'll encounter a lot of challenging steep portions. For this reason, we recommend this path exclusively to trained and sure-footed Alpine hikers and when the weather is dry only.

The path today – just like it was back then

The path crosses several small and large creeks, which descend downwards with waterfalls in very close proximity. In addition, you'll enjoy a breathtaking view of the mountains across the valley, such as Grassengletscher or Galtiberg – just to name a few. About half way, you'll find the Hohmatthuette (lodge). This lodge radiates with strength – which is apparent to everyone getting to the place. In the last third of the route, magnificent views of the Fuerenwand can be enjoyed. Quite a few people can discover a chamois in good eye.
After a vigorous rise, you can enjoy the hospitality in the Fuerenalp restaurant and dream of the wonderful ascent....

History

The first excursion of the new founded SAC Engelberg (mountain touring club) 110 years ago was from Engelberg to Fürenalp via Hohmatt path. In 2010 the SAC organized a celebratory hiking.
Even 100 years ago people used this path as a means of reaching the alp pastures and fields to make hay. Due to some areas being obscured when looking up from the valley, poachers took advantage of it. This area not only provided shelter to the game but also to its hunter...

Information Hohmatt Alpine hike

Length3.11 km
Ascent847 m
Descent84 m
Durationca. 2 hours
Difficultydifficult

• Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_001.jpg
  • Engelberg_F_renalp_Hohmatt_004.jpg

Hohmattweg - Wildererweg

Der Weg heute – wie damals
Der kürzeste Fussweg auf die Fürenalp führt über die Alp "Hohmatt". Aufgrund der direkten Linienführung finden Sie Steigungen vor, die es in sich haben. Daher ist der Weg nur für fitte und trittsichere Wanderer zu empfehlen bei trockener Witterung.
 
Der Weg quert etliche kleinere und grössere Bäche, welche sich in unmittelbarer Nähe über Wasserfälle zu Tale stürzen. Zudem gewinnen Sie einen herrlichen Blick ins Tal oder in die gegenüberliegende Bergwelt wie Grassengletscher oder Galtiberg – um nur einige zu nennen. Auch führt der Weg über die Hohmatthütte ca. in der Mitte der Strecke. Dieser Ort gilt als Kraft Ort – und wird jedem bei der Begehung und Begegnung klar fühlbar. Im letzten Drittel können herrliche Einblicke in die Fürenwand gewonnen werden. So manch einer kann bei gutem Auge eine Gämse entdecken.
 
Nach dem sportlichen Aufstieg geniessen Sie auf der Fürenalp die Gastfreundschaft im Restaurant und träumen vom herrlichen Aufstieg...
 
Geschichte
Dieser Weg wurde bereits vor 100 Jahren durch den SAC Engelberg begangen und beschrieben. Im Jahr 2010 wurde durch den SAC eine Jubiläumsbegehung organisiert und durchgeführt.

Schon vor 100 Jahren wurde der Weg als Zugang zu den Alpweiden und Heuplätzen genutzt. Da einige Stellen vom Tal schlecht einsehbar waren, wurde dieser als „Wildererweg" genutzt. Diese Gegend bot nicht nur dem Wild Schutz sondern auch dessen Jäger.

Informationen zur Wanderung

Länge3.11 km
Aufstieg847 hm
Abstieg84 hm
Dauerca. 2 Stunden
Schwierigkeitsgradschwer